VIADUT Student paper nº1 (2019)

Turkish Language in the European Union post-brexit

Fecha de publicación:
Mirko Savković

VIADUCT Student Paper nº. 1 (2019)

Linguistic diversity is one of the prominent characteristics of European society, and one which is celebrated in ‘In Varietate Concordia’ (English: United in Diversity), the motto of the continental union. In total, twenty-four official languages are used in the corridors of Brussels’ institutions (Baaij, p 1, 2018), while an even larger number of others are used throughout the continent.
Three out of twenty-four official EU languages are dominant and enjoy the so-called procedural languages status. These are English, French, and German (, 2013).
Turkish is not one of the official languages of the European Union despite its formal co-official status on the island of Cyprus. In this respect, Turkish (, 2018) is one of only two languages which are official in an EU member state, but not at the level of the Union, the other being Luxembourgish (Morgan, 2016a). In this paper, I will examine three different proposals for changes to the European post-Brexit linguistic policy, and how these models may affect Turkish language in Europe.